Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame


April 29, 2010

Otsego Herald: Otsego County holds elections

— From the Otsego Herald

for Saturday, April 28, 1810

Compiled, with comments


 From information received, we conceive it nearly certain that the county of Otsego has, as we predicted, given a handsome republican majority for governor, lieut. governor, senators, member of congress and assembly men.... We have heard from every town in the county, and the majorities for members of assembly are as follows: Otsego, 100

Federalist; Plainfield,19 Federalist;

Middlefield, 166 Federalist;

Springfield, 118 Federalist; Cherry

Valley, 36 Federalist; Hartwick,

103 Republican; Butternuts, 52

Republican; Milford; 61 Republican;

Otego, 10 Republican;

Exeter, 8 Republican; Burlington,

39 Republican; Richfield, 57

Republican; Worcester, 53 Republican;

Westford, 74 Republican;

Decatur, 4 Republican; Maryland,

4 Republican; Unadilla, 83 Republican;

Edmeston, 40 Republican;

Pittsfield, 54 Republican; New-

Lisbon, 45 Republican.

Majorities, 439 Federalis, 687



COMMENT: Otego is what is now Oneonta; the Towns of Otego, Morris, Laurens, and Roseboom had not yet been created.

Note that the Towns with Federalist majorities are those which had been under the political control of Federalist Judge William Cooper until his death in 1809. These figures seem to have been unofficial.

REVOLUTIONISTS IN CANADA On the 21st ult. (March), the Governor General of Canada, published a proclamation, announcing that certain seditious and treasonous writings had been printed, published and circulated in the Province of Lower Canada, disseminated at a very great expence, the source of which was not known; and that some of the authors, printers, and publishers had been apprehended and secured.

He calls on the civil and military officers, and all good subjects to be vigilant in detecting and securing for punishment all persons guilty in preparing or circulating seditious papers -- and contradicts the accusations which evil disposed persons have spread against himself and the government.

COMMENT: The seditious paper circulated in Lower Canada (i.e., Quebec) was the Frenchlanguage newspaper ``Le Canadien,’’ whose motto was ``Our Institutions, Our Language, Our Rights.’’ Established in Quebec City in 1806, ``Le Canadien’’ became the spokesman for French Canadians, and it was said that Americans were secretly supporting it. It was suppressed in 1810 and its editor arrested. ``Canada’’ at this time consisted of what are now two Canadian provinces, Ontario (Upper Canada) and Quebec (Lower Canada). Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland were still separate British colonies.

Text Only

New Today!