Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Letters

September 1, 2011

Your Opinion: September 01, 2011

Committee says thanks to community

On behalf of the 2011 Cooperstown Cotillion Committee, we would like to extend a sincere thanks to the Glimmerglass Festival for its continued support of our program.

On Friday, Aug. 12, 46 Cooperstown Central School students attended an excellent performance of Irving Berlin’s “Annie Get Your Gun” at the opera house. For many years, the Glimmerglass Festival has hosted our students for a night of dancing in the Thaw pavilion followed by a performance. This opportunity exposes our youth to the exciting world of opera and illuminates the cultural experiences in the Cooperstown area.

We thank you for a wonderful evening!

Maureen Micek and Tim Siegel

Opera Chairs

2011 Cotillion Committee

1
Text Only
Letters
  • Please Click Here

    August 7, 2014

  • Please Click Here

    June 12, 2014

  • OUR READERS' VIEWS OUR READERS' VIEWS

    May 29, 2014

  • Please Click Here Thank you to all of the participants in the Paint the Town Purple event on Friday, May 9. You made Paint the Town Purple truly a message of hope!

    May 15, 2014

  • Please Click Here I have always gone to the library. When I was young, my mother took my siblings and me to our local library at least once a week to select books. I felt I had the world at my fingertips, so many books to explore!

    April 3, 2014

  • Please Click Here Never have I written back-to-back letters to the editor, but so many Cooperstown people have called our home or talked with me on the street to comment on my previous letter about the Furthur concert.

    July 25, 2013

  • Our Readers' Opinions Once again nature is wreaking havoc with our properties surrounding the lake! The amount of rain we have received in the last month is approximately 13 inches -- three times the normal amount!

    July 11, 2013

  • Honest Brook Music Festival to celebrate 25th anniversary The Honest Brook Music Festival has announced its 25th anniversary summer season classical concerts.

    July 4, 2013

  • Our Readers' Opinions After living in the western southern tier for 10 years, my wife and I decided to visit the Hall of Fame today, June 20, before moving out of the area in a few weeks. We enjoyed the museum, but parking in Cooperstown proved to be a formidable gauntlet.

    June 27, 2013

  • Our Readers' Opinions To Those members of the local government who care about the economic future of Cooperstown and the maintenance of its character: Has Town Hall gone mad here?

    June 13, 2013