Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

June 1, 2012

Letters to the Editor: June 31, 2012


Thank you to all of the businesses, organizations, and residents in the Cooperstown/ Northern Otsego County Relay for Life region who made Paint the Town Purple a spectacular and colorful event on Friday, May 11. The villages of the area were certainly “bloomin’ with hope for a cure”!

Rena Lull

Dawne Dietz co-chairs

Paint the Town Purple Scholarship founder says thanks

The Second Leadership Scholarship, founded by me and administered by the Cooperstown Chamber of Commerce, thanks the individuals and business donors for not only their generous financial support but their belief in the purpose of this scholarship.

The following have made the launching of this possible and take it to its second year: $500.00+ Rich McCaffery, Cooperstown (2011 & 2012); $100.00+ Grace Kull, Cooperstown (2011 & 2012); Janice Eichler, Cooperstown (2011 & 2012); Samuel Wilcox, Cooperstown (2011 & 2012); Anne Keith, Cooperstown (2011 &2012); Bob & Christine Amos, Oneonta (2011);Claire Kepner, Fly Creek (2011 &2012); The Meadowlark Inn, East Springfield, George & Tina Macaluso (2011 & 2012); Cooperstown College Services, Jason Tabor, Cooperstown (2011 & 2012); Martha & Paul Clarvoe, Hartwick (2011 & 2012); Leatherstocking Cooperative Insurance Company, Philip Lewis, Cooperstown (2011 & 2012); Mary Wright, Cooperstown (2011 & 2012); Jeanne & John Dewey (2012); $50.00+ Dan Crowell, Cooperstown (2011 & 2012); Jeff & Susan O’Handley, Hartwick (2011); Starry Night Bed & Breakfast, Marcia Kozubek, Oneonta (2011 & 2012);Deborah Taylor, Hartwick (2011 & 2012); Cooperstown B&B, Linda & John Smirk; (2012); Irene Ekstrom, Cooperstown (2011 & 2012); Erin McKay, Cooperstown (2011 & 2012); Lyoncher B & B, Cooperstown, Tom & Jean Lyon (2012); Patricia Szarpa, Cooperstown (2012); $25+ John & Maureen Rowley, Cooperstown (2011); Jim & Carol Roe, Laurens (2011); Jim & Teresa Donley, Cooperstown (2012); Central NY Mobile Marketing, Susan O’Handley (2012) and Mary Beth Dow, Hartwick (2012).

This scholarship recognizes a student embarking upon a career focused on Volunteerism, Community Development/Organizational Leadership, or hospitality/ tourism either with a private enterprise, not-for-profit organization or government entity.

This is a worthy initiative for the Cooperstown Chamber as it supports the organizations mission of collaboration toward advancing the business, cultural and civic welfare of the greater Cooperstown community.

This scholarship purpose emphasizes the value of leadership and volunteerism and how this dimension is crucial toward overall community development. It also positions the Chamber with a commitment to “growing” future community leaders.

Also thanks is extended to the scholarships first recipient Sarah Dewey who officiatedat this years program and presented the check to this years recipient, Rachael Fort, a 2012 graduate of Cooperstown High School and also to Brewery Ommegang for again hosting and donating the reception and providing their superb hospitality.

Donations to this scholarship are accepted at any time by contacting the Cooperstown Chamber of Commerce at 547-9983 or

Rich McCaffery