Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Letters

October 4, 2012

Our readers' opinions: Oct. 4

Volunteerism is never out of style

It’s indeed a privilege to accept the 2012 Community Service Award presented by the Cooperstown Chamber of Commerce at their annual meeting Oct. 1. 

The occasion, at Brewery Ommegang, was festive, electrified and full of dedicated community members.  The award goes back to 1969 and there have been 18 recipients.  While I received the most recent award, it’s accepted on behalf of everyone who supported the nomination and contributed over the years in the spirit of volunteerism to this wonderful community.

This has been a time of reflection for me.  A look at the past recipients, who earned the distinction of true community leaders and how they have made a positive difference in the way we live and thrive in Cooperstown, is most impressive.  Their legacy lives on and still inspires and impacts us in many positive ways. It’s also a time to look ahead as key leadership in business enterprise, within organizations and individually is so crucial in this sometimes complicated environment.  Teamed with this, and equally necessary, is the commitment to volunteerism — it has never gone out of style  and we all qualify.  Giving of oneself through sharing of talents and time is essential and this community is a dynamic example. 

Thank you to the Chamber board and staff, Chamber members and community-at-large for providing me the opportunity to accept this recognition on behalf of you.

Rich McCaffery

Cooperstown

1
Text Only
Letters
  • Please Click Here

    June 12, 2014

  • OUR READERS' VIEWS OUR READERS' VIEWS

    May 29, 2014

  • Please Click Here Thank you to all of the participants in the Paint the Town Purple event on Friday, May 9. You made Paint the Town Purple truly a message of hope!

    May 15, 2014

  • Please Click Here I have always gone to the library. When I was young, my mother took my siblings and me to our local library at least once a week to select books. I felt I had the world at my fingertips, so many books to explore!

    April 3, 2014

  • Please Click Here Never have I written back-to-back letters to the editor, but so many Cooperstown people have called our home or talked with me on the street to comment on my previous letter about the Furthur concert.

    July 25, 2013

  • Our Readers' Opinions Once again nature is wreaking havoc with our properties surrounding the lake! The amount of rain we have received in the last month is approximately 13 inches -- three times the normal amount!

    July 11, 2013

  • Honest Brook Music Festival to celebrate 25th anniversary The Honest Brook Music Festival has announced its 25th anniversary summer season classical concerts.

    July 4, 2013

  • Our Readers' Opinions After living in the western southern tier for 10 years, my wife and I decided to visit the Hall of Fame today, June 20, before moving out of the area in a few weeks. We enjoyed the museum, but parking in Cooperstown proved to be a formidable gauntlet.

    June 27, 2013

  • Our Readers' Opinions To Those members of the local government who care about the economic future of Cooperstown and the maintenance of its character: Has Town Hall gone mad here?

    June 13, 2013

  • Our Readers' Opinions I applaud the Baseball HOF's move of the Classic to Memorial Day Saturday. I just wished it had not been rained out.

    June 6, 2013