Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Local News

December 19, 2013

Fracking moratoriums continue in Otsego

Most Otsego County residents are now living in communities that have enacted bans or moratorium against gas drilling.

Last week, the town of Butternuts approved a ban on shale gas drilling and storage, with a 3-2 vote of the town board, Butternuts Town Supervisor Charles Eckelmann said.

By another 3-2 vote earlier in the week, the town of Hartwick approved an eight-month moratorium against all heavy industry, including gas drilling.

The towns that have already banned gas drilling include Middlefield, Cherry Valley, Milford, New Lisbon, Otsego, Plainfield, Roseboom and Springfield. Moratoriums against drilling have been enacted by the town of Otego and the town of Oneonta. In addition, fracking has been banned by the the city of Oneonta and the village of Cooperstown.

That adds up to 12 of the county’s 24 towns moving to keep out drilling — either permanently or temporarily — with the only city and most populous village in the county following suit.

Pro-drilling Worcester Town Board Member Dave Parker conceded that in the debate over natural gas extraction, his side is losing the battle for the hearts and minds of Otsego County residents.

“Let them revel in their symbolic victories,” Parker said. “They use the methods and tactics of activists, while we try to use logic and common sense.”

Eckelmann, who backed the ban enacted in Butternuts this week, said there is no question from his vantage point that opponents of horizontal hydraulic fracturing for gas have the momentum as state government leaders wrestle with the question of whether it should issue drilling permits to the energy industry.

“We didn’t enact our ban on a whim,” he said. “All the evidence indicates that the people who don’t want it far outnumber the people who do want it. It’s the will of the people.”

Towns that remain open to drilling include Worcester, Burlington, Unadilla, Edmeston, Decatur, Maryland, Laurens, Pittsfield, Richfield, Westford and Exeter.

Text Only
Local News

New Today!