Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Local News

December 19, 2013

CCS Quiz Team qualifies for multiple Nationals

The Cooperstown Quiz Team has qualified for three national championship tournaments, and has its eye on qualifying for a fourth.

“It takes a little bit of the pressure off,” said coach Timothy Iversen.

Cooperstown Quiz Team A qualified Cooperstown for the NAQT 2014 High School National Championship Tournament by placing second in the Second Annual BrainBusters Fall Tournament, hosted by Ithaca High School on Dec. 7. Its performance also earned the school an invite to the NAQT 2014 Small School National Championship Tournament, and the PACE National Scholastic Championship.

The BrainBusters tournament featured 21 teams and 12 rounds. Four of these teams were from Cooperstown High School, which fielded the largest number of teams in the tournament. The tournament was supposed to have more teams, but weather kept some schools away.

Iversen divided the 22 students who chose to travel to the tournament into the four teams.

“I usually try to build my A team as my strongest team,” said Iversen.

He also said that he built the D team out of his youngest players, and tried to create two balanced teams out of the remaining students. Quiz teams in the NAQT format can have up to six players, but only four can play in the competition at a time.

Cooperstown Quiz Team A went undefeated for nine rounds, losing in the finals to tournament champions Ithaca Quiz Team A. Cooperstown Quiz Teams B, C and D placed 12th, 21st and 13th respectively.

The members of Cooperstown Quiz Team A for the tournament were Claire Dohner, Joey Katz, Michael Kern, Sean Mebust and Jacob Russell. The members of Cooperstown Quiz Team B were Grant Davine, Patrick Dewey, Renee Friedman, Eli S, Nate Wilcox and David Zolick. The members of Cooperstown Quiz Team C were Kevin Frevele, Sky Gann, Grace Heneghan, Tae Livermore and Michael Perrino. The members of Cooperstown Quiz Team D were Lindsay Brown, Scott Curtis, Alex Greenberg, Regina Lassiter, Ethan Russell and Philip Wasson.

Text Only
Local News

New Today!