Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Local News

January 8, 2014

Maddux, Glavine, Thomas make HOF

After a shutout on last year’s Baseball Hall of Fame ballot, the Baseball Writers Association of America hit a triple for 2014.

At 2 p.m. Wednesday HOF president Jeff Idelson announced that the BBWAA members had voted to enshrine three new members, Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Frank Thomas. All three will go into the Hall of Fame on their first time on the ballot.

The newcomers may have hurt the chances of other long-term candidates as all but two returning players – Craig Biggio and Mike Piazza – lost votes from last year’s ballots.

Biggio, the catcher and second baseman for the Houston Astros who was the top vote getter in 2013, came within a couple of votes of making the induction a foursome. He got 74.8 percent of the vote.

Former New York Met catcher Mike Piazza also increased his vote percentage, from 57.8 percent in 2013 to 62.2 percent in 2014.

Pitcher Jack Morris, on his 15th and final ballot, had a significant drop in his percentage, from 67.7 percent in 2013 to 61.5 percent.     

The trio will join managers Tony LaRussa, Joe Torre and Bobby Cox, who were selected by the Expansion Era Committee, on the stage at the Clark Sports Center on July 27. One day earlier, on July 26, the Hall will also honor Ford C. Frick Award winner Eric Nadel, Spink Award winner Roger Angell and Buck O’Neil Award winner Joe Garagiola.

It is the first time that three inductees have been voted in by the BBWAA since 1999 when Nolan Ryan, George Brett and Robin Yount were enshrined. 

Maddux came 16 votes short of being a unanimous selection, getting 555 of 571 votes. 

Text Only
Local News

New Today!