Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Local News

January 10, 2013

Enshrinement is the ultimate honor


Nobody has been elected into the Hall of Fame as a unanimous choice. Roberto Alomar is the 26th and most recent player to earn at least 90 percent of the BBWAA vote in any one election. He is the first non-first-ballot player to crack the 90 percent level.

There are 48 Hall of Famers who spent their entire career with one team. Barry Larkin, elected last year, is the most recent. The last pair of teammates who played only for the same franchise to be elected into the Hall of Fame by the BBWAA in the same year was Whitey Ford and Mickey Mantle in 1974. It is possible it could happen again — this year’s ballot features Jeff Bagwell and Craig Biggio who spent their big league careers with the Astros and Don Mattingly and Bernie Williams who spent their career with the Yankees. The last time two players who spent their entire career with the same Major League team were selected regardless of election method came in 1984 when lifelong Dodgers Don Drysdale (BBWAA) and Pee Wee Reese (Veterans Committee) were elected. The last teammates of any duration who were elected into the Hall of Fame in the same year were 1991 Dodger teammates Gary Carter and Eddie Murray. They were enshrined in 2003.

Editors note: This article was written before the 2013 BBWAA results were released. Facts and numbers do not include those results.

Text Only
Local News

New Today!