Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Local News

January 10, 2013

Steroids strike out Hall hopefuls

Ceremony will honor some players already enshrined


This is the eighth election by the BBWAA that did not produce a Hall of Famer. It the first since 1996. That year, the top three vote-getters were Phil Niekro (68.3), Tony Perez (65.7) and Don Sutton (63.8). All were eventually elected; Niekro in 1997, Sutton in 1998 and Perez in 2000. The other BBWAA elections without a winner were in 1945, 1946, 1950, 1958, 1960 and 1971.

Biggio and Piazza were on the ballot for the first time. Bagwell was on for the third year. It was Raines' sixth. Morris only has one more year for a chance to be elected by the BBWAA. Players remain on the ballot for up to 15 years provided they receive 5 percent of the vote in any year. 

There were 19 candidates who failed to get 29 votes, and will not appear on next year's ballots. Outfielder Bernie Williams of the Yankees, in his second year on the ballot, received 19 votes, or 3.3 percent. The other 18 players were on the ballot for the first time.

First-year candidates who received sufficient support to remain, in addition to Biggio and Piazza, were pitchers Clemens and Curt Schilling and outfielders Bonds and Sosa. Outfielder Dale Murphy, in his 15th and final year on the ballot, received 106 votes (18.6).

Others who will remain on the ballot are first basemen Mark McGwire, Fred McGriff, Don Mattingly and Rafael Palmeiro; pitcher Lee Smith; shortstop Alan Trammell; designated hitter-third baseman Edgar Martinez and outfielder Larry Walker.

As part of the Induction Weekend ceremony Sunday, July 28, at the Clark Sports Center in which three Pre-Integration Committee electees — umpire Hank O’Day, New York Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert and 19th-century player Deacon White — will be inducted, the Hall of Fame will recognize 12 individuals previously counted among its roster of members who never had a formal induction due to wartime restrictions. They are BBWAA electees Lou Gehrig (1939) and Rogers Hornsby (1942), along with the entire class of 1945 selected by the Committee on Old Timers: Roger Bresnahan, Dan Brouthers, Fred Clarke, Jimmy Collins, Ed Delahanty, Hugh Duffy, Hughie Jennings, King Kelly, Jim O’Rourke and Wilbert Robinson.

Text Only
Local News

New Today!