Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Local News

November 7, 2013

Local races decided

In addition to the country races, several contested local races were decided on Tuesday.

In the race for Hartwick Supervisor, Republican incumbent David J. Butler defeated a challenge by Democrat Patricia S. Ryan. In the races for Hartwick Council, however, Democrats Julianne Sharratt and Gloria G. Waro emerged victorious over Republican Fred D. Field

In Richfield, Monica Harris narrowly defeated Susan Cantwell for Town Clerk/Collector. In the races for Richfield Council Laurie E. Bond and Paul Palumbo were elected over William P. Seamon. The election for an unexpired Council term was won by Fred Eckler over Larry Frigault.

In the three-way race for the town of Otsego Highway Superintendent, Republican John Schallert Jr. defeated Democrat Mark L. diLorenzo and Safe Highways Party candidate Bryan D. Pernat.

Hartwick Supervisor

Votes/Percentage Patricia S. Ryan   226 38.37 David J. Butler    363 61.63


Votes Percentage

Julianne Sharratt  337 33.399

Fred D. Field  301 29.832

Gloria G. Waro   371 36.769


Town Clerk/Collector

    Votes Percentage

Monica Harris    359 52.18

Susan Cantwell 328 47.674


Votes Percentage

Laurie E. Bond    405   36.486

William P. Seamon  281  25.315

Paul Palumbo 422   38.018

Council (Unexpired Term)   

Votes Percentage

Larry Frigault   259  41.506

Fred Eckler  365  58.494


Highway Superintendent

Votes    Percentage

Mark L. diLorenzo   375  31.915

John Schallert Jr.    494 42.043

Bryan D. Pernat   302  25.702

Text Only
Local News

New Today!