Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Local News

June 20, 2013

Live music event planned for Hall of Fame's 75th anniversary

More to come: Organizers still working on lineup of activities

On June 12, 1939, the National Baseball Museum opened its doors for the first time, in honor of the 100th anniversary of the mythical “first game” that allegedly was played in Cooperstown on June 12, 1839. The first four classes of Hall of Fame electees were honored on that day in 1939, as the election process began in 1936.

In honor of turning 74 years old, the baseball shrine has unveiled a special 75th anniversary logo that will be used to commemorate the organization’s Diamond year and anniversary.

The Hall of Fame also announced plans for a 14-month musical celebration for next year. As part of the anniversary lineup, LGH19 Productions will produce a live event on Aug. 2, 2014 on the same stage where the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place six days earlier.

The Boston Pops will be the “house band” for the event, which according to organizers, will feature some of the music industry’s top recording artists, as well as celebrities from the world of film, television and baseball.

“This event will allow music, movie and baseball fans to come together to celebrate in Cooperstown, just days after the 2014 induction ceremony,” Hall of Fame President Jeff Idelson said.

Idelson said LGH19 is a Los Angeles-based entertainment and live music producer. VIP tickets are $100, $200 and $400. For more information, visit

According to Idelson, more information about the acts who will participate will be announced after this year’s Hall of Fame Induction ceremonies.

Inductions are held at the Clark Sports Center. This year’s ceremony will be held at 1:30 p.m. Sunday, July 28 and honor umpire Hank O’Day, Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert and 19th century catcher/third baseman Deacon White who have been elected by the Pre-Integration Era Committee, The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will also pay tribute to 12 individuals previously counted among the Hall’s roster of members who never had a formal induction. Honorees will include BBWAA electees Lou Gehrig (1939) and Rogers Hornsby (1942), along with the entire class of 1945 selected by the Committee on Old Timers: Roger Bresnahan, Dan Brouthers, Fred Clarke, Jimmy Collins, Ed Delahanty, Hugh Duffy, Hughie Jennings, King Kelly, Jim O’Rourke and Wilbert Robinson.

Text Only
Local News

New Today!