Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Local News

June 19, 2014

'Fabulous collection' of baseballs to be raffled

A case of baseballs signed by Hall of Famers is the prize for the Coopertown Rotary's Amazing Autographed Baseball Raffle.

The raffle is limited to just 100 tickets at $50 each. Only 60 tickets remain. The proceeds benefiting the programs of the Cooperstown Rotary Foundation.

The prize features 20 autographed baseballs in a wood display case. The 20 autographed balls include 16 current Hall of Famers: Larry Doby, Eddie Matthews, Brooks Robinson, Steve Carlton, Joe DiMaggio, Whitey Ford, Duke Snider, Stan Musial, Frank Robinson, Goose Gossage, Willie Mays, Mike Schmidt, Barry Larkin, Luis Aparicio, Wade Boggs and Phil Niekro as well as 2014 inductee Frank Thomas. Don Newcombe, Alex Rodriguez and Chipper Jones signed the other three balls. 

Jeff Katz, coordinator of the raffle commented, “I’ve never seen a collection of baseballs this good. You could end up with a fabulous instant collection. With the proceeds going to the Cooperstown Rotary Foundation, which does such good work locally, there’s no reason not to buy a raffle ticket.”

The drawing for the raffle will take place on Tuesday, July 29 at Rotary’s lunch meeting. For more information or to purchase a ticket, email:


Text Only
Local News

New Today!