Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Local News

April 25, 2013

BOE approves interim Superintendent, dismisses absent member

The Cherry Valley-Springfield Central School’s Board of Education officially approved an interim Superintendent at its April 18 meeting and also dismissed a missing member.

Richard Rose, who retired as the Superintendent of the Canajoharie School System in December of 2011 after 25 years in the position, was approved by the CV-S BOE by a unanimous 5-0 vote under a consent agreement that approved several resolutions.

The board approved two contracts with Rose. One contract appoints him to serve as Deputy Superintendent from April 23 through May 10. The other appoints him as interim Superintendent effective May 11.

Current Superintendent Robert Miller’s last day at CV-S is May 10. He will take over as superintendent of the Herkimer Central School District the following week.

Rose will serve until a new superintendent is hired. The search is being done by the Otsego Northern Catskills BOCES and has been posted with a target hire date between Sept. 1 and the beginning of 2014, according to several board members. ONC BOCES also conducted the search for an interim superintendent.

Rose will be paid $500 a day, both as deputy superintendent and as interim superintendent.

The board also voted 4-1 to declare vacant the seat held by Corey Webster because of his frequent unexplained absences.

Webster missed his third consecutive regular meeting -- fifth consecutive meeting counting special meetings -- on Thursday. He was elected in 2008 and his term was going to expire next month. The board is required to appoint an interim member or call a special election within 90 days of the vacancy; however with the election scheduled for May 21, the consensus of the board was that they will take no steps to fill the position before then.

Board president Robert Tabor and members Kevin Lennebacker, Hilary Lusk and Jeffrey Wait voted to declare the position vacant. Kathleen Taylor voted against it. Frank McGrath was not present.

Text Only
Local News

New Today!