Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Local News

March 14, 2013

James Fenimore Cooper to be inducted into state Writers Hall of Fame


The other 2013 inductees are as follows:

Countee Cullen (1903 - 1946), an American poet who was a leading figure in the Harlem Renaissance.

Marilyn Hacker (1942), an American poet, translator and critic. She is best known for formal poems that mix high culture and colloquial speech.

Alice McDermott (1953), an American novelist. Her 1998 novel”Charming Billy” won an American Book Award and the U.S. National Book Award for Fiction. In 2006 she was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for “After This.”

Walter Mosley (1952), an American novelist, most widely recognized for his crime fiction. He has written a series of best-selling historical mysteries featuring the hard-boiled detective Easy Rawlins.

Miguel Pinero (1946 - 1988), Puerto Rican playwright, actor and co-founder of the Nuyorican Poets Cafe. He was a leading member of the Nuyorican literary movement.

Maurice Sendak (1928 - 2012), a writer and illustrator of children’s books. He was best known for his book “Where the Wild Things Are,” first published in 1963.

Calvin Trillin (1935), a journalist, humorist, food writer, poet, memoirist and novelist. He is the 2012 recipient of Thurber Prize for American Humor.

Text Only
Local News

New Today!