Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Local Sports

November 14, 2013

Hall of Fame announces Expansion Era ballot

Managers Torre, La Russa, Cox have first chances for induction

The National Baseball Hall of Fame announced Monday the names that will be considered on the Expansion Era ballot for 2014 induction.

Six former major league players, four managers and two executives comprise the 12-name ballot, featuring candidates whose greatest contributions to the game were realized from 1973 through the present. A 16-member electorate will review and cast votes at the 2013 Baseball Winter Meetings on Dec. 9 in Orlando.

Dave Concepcion, Bobby Cox, Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Tony La Russa, Billy Martin, Marvin Miller, Dave Parker, Dan Quisenberry, Ted Simmons, George Steinbrenner and Joe Torre are the candidates that will be considered. Any candidate who earns votes on 75 percent of ballots cast will earn election to the National Baseball Hall of Fame and will be inducted on Sunday, July 27, 2014.

The 16-member Hall of Fame Board-appointed electorate charged with the review of the Expansion Era ballot features: Hall of Fame members Rod Carew, Carlton Fisk, Whitey Herzog, Tom Lasorda, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, Phil Niekro, and Frank Robinson; major league executives Paul Beeston (Blue Jays), Andy MacPhail, Dave Montgomery (Phillies) and Jerry Reinsdorf (White Sox); and historians Steve Hirdt (Elias Sports Bureau), Bruce Jenkins (San Francisco Chronicle), Jack O’Connell (BBWAA) and Jim Reeves (retired, Fort Worth Star-Telegram).

The Expansion Era ballot was devised this fall by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA)-appointed Historical Overview Committee from all eligible candidates among managers, umpires, executives and long-retired players, whose most significant career impact was realized from 1973 through the present. Eligible candidates include players who appeared in at least 10 consecutive major league seasons, who are not on Major League Baseball’s ineligible list and have been retired for 21 or more seasons (those whose last playing appearance was no later than 1992); managers and umpires with 10 or more years in baseball and retired for at least five years, with candidates who are 65 years or older eligible six months from the date of the election following retirement; and executives with 10 consecutive years in baseball and retired for at least five years, with active executives 65 years or older are eligible for consideration.

Text Only
Local Sports

New Today!