Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Local Sports

May 22, 2014

CV-S boys win track title

Noto pitches no-no for Coop


Tri-Valley League Championship


Cherry Valley-Springfield’s boys and Richfield Springs’ girls earned team titles in the Tri-Valley League Championships at CV-S.

The Patriots’ boys finished with 122 points – nine better than runner-up Edmeston. They swept the three relays, with Ben Drugatz, Noah Russo and Nick Mills running on the 400 and 1,600 relays. Drugatz, Russo and Mills joined Kurt Pressly to win the 400 relay in 47.6. Elijah Lyon filled out the 1,600 relay team, which finished in 3:40.0.

Lyon, Ryan Jaquay, Jon Maygar and Luke Palombo won the 3,200 relay in 9:08.7.

CV-S also received victories from Mills in the 400 (54.4) and Dustin Collins in the triple jump (41-4.5).

Milford’s Elijah Rutledge won the high jump at 5-10.

Richfield Springs girls earned a tight victory over Milford. The Indians finished with 83.5 points – 1.5 better than runner-up Milford. Laurens placed third with 70.

Christina Gurley won the 100 (13.0) and the 200 (27.6) for RS, which got a win from Tessa Buck in the triple jump (31-6.75).

Milford received a victory from Keira Higgins in the 1,500 (5:29.5) and from its 1,600 relay team of Grace Brennan, Emilie Mertz, Hannah Saggese and Lia Stolenstein (4:34.4).

Tri-Valley League Championship


Milford’s Keira Higgins set a school record in winning the girls 2,000-meter steeplechase and Franklin’s Blaine Fairchilds won the 3,000 steeplechase Monday as the Tri-Valley League Championships started at Oneonta State.

Higgins finished in 8 minutes, 12.6 seconds. Franklin’s Mariah McNeilly placed second and also set a school record. McNeilly crossed in 8:21.4.

Fairchilds won the boys race in 10:59.9. South Kortright/Davenport’s Sean O’Connor was second in 11:05.6.


Cooperstown 5, Poland 0


Host Cooperstown completed a 15-0 regular season with a Center State Conference sweep.

Eighth-graders Pierce Snyder and Tyler Bertram continued their unbeaten seasons with straight-set victories at second and third singles, respectively, for the CSC champions.

Snyder beat Andrew Taverne, 6-1, 6-0, and Bertram downed Branden Garrett, 6-2, 6-0.

Text Only
Local Sports

New Today!