Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Local Sports

July 11, 2013

41 Hall of Famers expected to attend Induction Ceremony

Though the Baseball Hall of Fame will be short on big-time inductees later this month, it clearly won’t be without A-listers during Induction Weekend.

The Cooperstown shrine announced Monday that 41 Hall of Famers will return for the July 28 Induction Ceremony at the Clark Sports Center.

Among those expected to see the enshrinement of pre-integration era committee electees Hank O’Day, Jacob Ruppert and Deacon White – all deceased – are all-time greats Hank Aaron, Willie Mays and Cal Ripken Jr.

Aaron hit 755 homers (second all-time), drove in a record 2,297 runs and had 3,771 hits in a career that ended in 1976.

Mays, who retired following the 1973 season, finished with 660 homers, 1,903 RBIs and 3,283 hits.

Ripken’s career included playing in a record 2,632 consecutive games. He also accumulated 3,184 hits, to go along with 431 homers and 1,695 RBIs. During Ripken’s 2007 Induction Ceremony, a record turnout estimated at 75,000 attended.

Also returning will be 2012 inductee Barry Larkin.

The remainder of the list is as follows: Roberto Alomar, Luis Aparicio, Johnny Bench, Bert Blyleven, Wade Boggs, Jim Bunning, Rod Carew, Orlando Cepeda, Andre Dawson, Dennis Eckersley, Rollie Fingers, Carlton Fisk, Whitey Ford, Bob Gibson, Pat Gillick, Goose Gossage, Tony Gwynn, Doug Harvey, Ralph Kiner, Sandy Koufax, Tommy Lasorda, Juan Marichal, Bill Mazeroski, Joe Morgan, Eddie Murray, Phil Niekro, Gaylord Perry, Jim Rice, Brooks Robinson, Frank Robinson, Tom Seaver, Ozzie Smith, Bruce Sutter, Don Sutton, Billy Williams and Robin Yount.

On July 27, the Hall of Fame Awards Presentation will start at 4:30 p.m. at Doubleday Field, where the returning Hall of Famers will honor the 2013 Award Winners. Longtime Philadelphia baseball scribe and current writer Paul Hagen will receive the Baseball Writers’ Association of America’s J.G. Taylor Spink Award for meritorious contributions to baseball writing, and Blue Jays broadcaster Tom Cheek will be honored posthumously with the Hall of Fame’s Ford C. Frick Award for major contributions to baseball broadcasting.

Text Only
Local Sports

New Today!