Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Local Sports

November 8, 2012

Hall of Fame announces Pre-Integration ballot

The National Baseball Hall of Fame has hopped into the way-back machine in search for potential candidates for the 2013 Induction class.

Ten men — Samuel Breadon, Bill Dahlen, Wes Ferrell, Marty Marion, Tony Mullane, Hank O’Day, Alfred Reach, Jacob Ruppert, Bucky Walters and Deacon White  are up for consideration on the Pre-Integration Era ballot. All are deceased.

They built their resumes largely before 1946.

Candidates must receive at least 12 votes from the 16-member, Pre-Integration Era Committee to earn election. The voting will occur during Baseball’s Winter Meetings on Dec. 2 and 3. Those elected will join anyone who emerges from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America voting Jan. 9 in the 2013 Induction class. The Induction Ceremony will be July 28 at the Clark Sports Center in Cooperstown.

The finalists were selected by the BBWAA-appointed Historical Overview Committee from candidates among managers, umpires, executives and long-retired players. Eligible candidates include players who played at least 10 major league seasons, who are not on Major League Baseball’s ineligible list, and have been retired for 21 or more seasons; and managers, umpires and executives with 10 or more years in baseball.

The Historical Overview Committee was composed of 11 historians: Dave Van Dyck (Chicago Tribune); Bob Elliott (Toronto Sun); Rick Hummel (St. Louis Post-Dispatch); Steve Hirdt (Elias Sports Bureau); Bill Madden (New York Daily News); Ken Nigro (formerly Baltimore Sun); Jack O’Connell (BBWAA secretary/treasurer); Tracy Ringolsby (FSN Rocky Mountain); Glenn Schwarz (formerly San Francisco Chronicle); Claire Smith (ESPN); and Mark Whicker (Orange County Register).

Those voting on the candidates include Hall of Famers Bert Blyleven, Pat Gillick, Phil Niekro and Don Sutton. Others on the panel are major league executives Bill DeWitt, Roland Hemond, Gary Hughes and Bob Watson, and historians/journalists Jim Hennegan, Hirdt, Peter Morris, Phil Pepe, Tom Simon, Smith, T.R. Sullivan and Whicker.

Text Only
Local Sports

New Today!