Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

December 13, 2012

Baseball writer to be recognized

Staff and Wire Reports
Cooperstown Crier

---- — Paul Hagen has gone coast-to-coast during his baseball writing career, but he’ll live in the East forever.

Hagen has earned a home in Cooperstown’s National Baseball Hall of Fame as the 2013 J.G. Taylor Spink Award winner, the Baseball Writers’ Association of America announced during the winter meetings. 

The longtime Philadelphia writer, who started his career covering the Los Angeles Dodgers, will be honored for “meritorious contributions to baseball writing” during the July 26-29 Induction Weekend in Cooperstown.

Hagen and the Ford C. Frick Award winner (baseball broadcasting) will be the undercard for the 2013 inductions.

The following day, Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert, umpire Hank O’Day and 19th century catcher/third baseman Deacon White will be enshrined into the Hall of Fame at the Clark Sports Center in Cooperstown. Ruppert, O’Day and White _ all deceased _ earned election into the Hall on Monday in a vote by the Pre-Integration Era Committee. They will be joined by any others selected for election in voting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America, which will be released Jan. 9.

Ohio University graduate Hagen, 61, started his career covering the Los Angeles Dodgers in 1974 for the San Bernardino Sun-Telegram. He later covered the Texas Rangers for 10 years with the Dallas Times Herald and the Fort Worth Star-Telegram, then joined the Philadelphia Daily News in 1987. He worked last season for

Hagen, who also served as national president of the BBWAA in 2003, received 269 votes from the 421 ballots cast by BBWAA members with 10 or more consecutive years’ service. Five ballots were left blank.

Hagen beat Jim Hawkins and Russell Schneider to become the 64th winner of the award since its inception in 1962. The first recipient was the award’s namesake.

Hawkins, who has covered the Detroit Tigers and baseball for more than four decades, received 87 votes. Schneider, a fixture in Cleveland for a half-century and the author of 13 books on the game, appeared on 60 ballots.

Candidates were selected by a three-member, BBWAA-appointed committee and announced during the All-Star Game meeting July 10 at Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City. Voting was conducted in November through a mail ballot, a process that began in 2002.