Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Local Sports

December 12, 2013

Nadel gets Frink

 Eric Nadel, who has spent the last 35 years as the voice of the Texas Rangers, has been selected as the 2014 recipient of the Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually for excellence in broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

Nadel will be recognized during the Hall of Fame Awards Presentation on Saturday, July 26, as part of Hall of Fame Weekend 2014. Nadel becomes the first primary voice of the Texas Rangers to be honored with the Frick Award, as he earned the highest point total in a vote conducted by the Hall of Fame’s 20-member Frick Award Committee.

“Eric Nadel’s play-by-play has entertained Rangers fans across the Lone Star State and throughout the Southwest during warm Texas nights since 1979,” said Jeff Idelson, president of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. “From Nolan Ryan’s memorable milestones to American League Championship clinching moments, Eric’s crisp, energetic and enthusiastic delivery of Texas Rangers baseball has transcended multiple generations for 35 seasons.”

Born May 15, 1951, Nadel grew up in Brooklyn as a Dodgers fan and graduated from Brown University in 1972 with a sports broadcasting career in his sights. After calling pro hockey and basketball games for most of the 1970s, Nadel was hired by the Rangers in 1979. He teamed with Mark Holtz on Rangers radio from 1982-94, then took over as the team’s lead radio voice in 1995. He called Nolan Ryan’s 5,000th career strikeout on Aug. 22, 1989, and has been the narrator for the Rangers’ six playoff berths and two American League pennants since 1996.

Nadel learned Spanish upon the arrival of many Latin American stars on the Rangers in the 1980s and has called games in Spanish in Latin American countries during the MLB offseason. Nadel, who’s signature home run call, “That ball is history!,” has become a part of the Rangers’ lexicon.

Nadel is a member of both the Texas Baseball Hall of Fame and the Texas Rangers Hall of Fame, will be honored at the Hall of Fame’s Awards Presentation on Saturday, July 26 in Cooperstown.

Text Only
Local Sports

New Today!