Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

February 7, 2013

Boyle, Segit win Section Three Class D titles

Cooperstown Crier

---- — Mikey Boyle and Kevin Segit won championships for Cooperstown during the Section Three Class D Tournament on Friday at Sandy Creek.

Boyle pinned Poland’s Albert Amacher in 4:31 for the 120-pound title en route to Most Outstanding Wrestler accolades. Boyle’s run to his second sectional class title in three seasons included a 4-2 overtime defeat of Ben Nostovski, who beat him in the 2012 final.

Segit earned his first class championship with a 4-1 decision over Sandy Creek’s AJ Wills at 195.

Jacob Miller dropped a 10-2 major decision to Watertown IHC’s Nicholas Koelmel in the 145-pound final, but his runner-up finish helped the Redskins to 132 points for a fourth-place finish in the 14-team tournament. Dolgeville won the team title with 218.5 points.

Cooperstown also received thirds from Jacob Russell (99), Paul LoRusso (106) and JP Gertz (285), as well as a fourth-place finish from Trentin Carentz (113).

Redskins coach Micaiah Abts said the top four finishers in each weight class earned automatic berths to the Section Three Division II Championships, which are on Saturday at Onondaga Community College.