DR. J. JACKSON, presents his warmest thanks to the inhabitants of the town of Westford and its vicinity, for the truly liberal patronage they have bestowed upon him, in his practice of Physic & Surgery.
He would, however, remind his more negligent employers, that to carry on a successful contest with the numerous diseases incident to the human frame, it is necessary that he should be provided with the “sinews of war,” and to that end a more general payment of his demands is absolutely necessary, and will ere long be rigidly enforced, unless timely prevented.
He still holds himself in readiness to attend to all calls in his profession, and no exertions will be wanting to give satisfaction to all those who may please to bestow on him their patronage.
*** Wheat, Rye, Corn and Oats will be taken in payment.
Westford, Oct. 23, 1813.
COMMENT: Dr. John Jackson and his brother Dr. Elhanan W. Jackson practiced in Westford, beginning at least as early as 1811. After about 1820 they and two fellow doctors used the tiny doctor’s office now at the Farmers’ Museum in Cooperstown. John died about 1830; his brother continued there until 1856. John’s “plea” that his customers pay their bills is one of the more picturesque that we have seen.
Fort George Captured
The enemy have left the vicinity of Fort George; Gen. M’Clure is closely pursuing them, with about 2000 men volunteers, militia and Indians. It is believed he will pursue them at least to the Forty Mile Creek.
COMMENT: Ft. George was the major British fort on the Niagara Peninsula.