Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Our Opinion

March 21, 2013

Eliminate the gap elimination adjustment

(Continued)

“We believe this would do the most good for us,” CCS Superintendent C.J. Hebert said.

Hebert said advocacy was a topic during the budget work session because the goal was to narrow the focus on what is most important.

“We feel we will get further if we narrow down what we are lobbying for rather than advocating for a whole bunch of items,” he said.

The gap elimination adjustment is targeted for a phase-down by both chambers.

Sen. Elizabeth O’C. Little, R-Queensbury, has been quoted saying there will be “a full phase down in the 2016-17 school year,” if the Legislature gets its way.

This could not come soon enough and could actually be too late for many school districts. The “fiscal cliff” for many school districts is fast approaching — at least that is what Livshin is warning.

There is only so much a district can reduce or eliminate in spending to offset this revenue loss before the academic program begins to suffer. And there is only so much school districts can ask of taxpayers, who are also feeling the pinch of a stagnant economy.

Text Only
Our Opinion
  • Roses to ... A week later, however, the feeling we are left with is pride.

    May 29, 2014

  • Paid parking here to stay State Supreme Court Judge Kevin Dowd laid down the political challenge to opponents of Cooperstown's on-street paid-parking program, but it turns out that Dowd's challenge has gone unanswered.

    January 30, 2014

  • A Great Class for 2014 We're excited by last week's announcement of the results of the Baseball Writers' Association of America's 2014 Hall of Fame ballot.

    January 16, 2014

  • Still in favor of CCS project We’re disappointed with the results of the Cooperstown Central School vote on the capital construction project and we hope this isn’t the end of the project.

    December 19, 2013

  • Yes to CCS construction project Bottom line: who among us wants to say no to a new bathroom for the autism class?

    December 5, 2013

  • House GOP to blame for shutdown There's no reason to delay giving this opinion with needless words: Congressional Republicans are at fault for the government shutdown.

    October 3, 2013

  • Take signs of concussions seriously As the fall sports season heats up, we want to remind coaches, parents and athletes to take signs of concussions seriously.

    September 26, 2013

  • Giant pumpkins are worth seeing PumpkinFest has become such a wonderful tradition in Cooperstown. The two-day event is certainly unique to anyone who has not seen thousand pound pumpkins before.

    September 19, 2013

  • Don't forget to sign up for STAR A critical deadline is approaching for New York state property owners. Very soon, more than 2.6 million New Yorkers who receive the School Tax Relief exemption will need to re-apply as part of the state's efforts to combat fraud within the system.

    September 12, 2013

  • Returning to school takes some adjusting It’s that time of year again as students are beginning a new school year. They are probably feeling excited or a little sad that summer vacation has come to an end. Most likely they are feeling a little bit of both emotions.

    September 5, 2013

New Today!
Poll

How do you like our new website?

Its great!
Its ok
Not very much
I dont like it at all
     View Results