Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Our Opinion

November 8, 2012

Honor our veterans

We would like to encourage everyone to take the time to honor and thank our veterans on their day of observance Sunday. 

America’s veterans embody the ideals upon which America was founded more than 235 years ago. Since the Revolution, eight generations of America’s veterans have established an unbroken commitment to freedom.

On Sunday, the country will honor the millions of living veterans and the memory of those who came before them. We remember each soldier, Marine, sailor, airman and Coast Guardsman who has served our country by taking up arms when called by our nation in a time of need. The sacrifices ordinary American men and women from communities large and small have been willing to make, often before they were past their teenage years, have secured for our nation unprecedented freedoms and made us the world’s bulwark of liberty.

Veterans Day celebrates what began as Armistice Day, marking the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of 1918 the end of the bloody cataclysm known as World War I, the “war to end all wars.”

For those who have made the ultimate sacrifice, we are grateful that such men and women were among us. For those who continue to serve, we honor their commitment. For those who return to civilian life, we honor their service.

Don’t miss the annual Veterans Day parade Sunday in Cooperstown at 11 a.m. It begins in front of the Veterans Club on Main Street and marches to the monument on Pine Boulevard for a brief ceremony.

1
Text Only
Our Opinion
  • Paid parking here to stay State Supreme Court Judge Kevin Dowd laid down the political challenge to opponents of Cooperstown's on-street paid-parking program, but it turns out that Dowd's challenge has gone unanswered.

    January 30, 2014

  • A Great Class for 2014 We're excited by last week's announcement of the results of the Baseball Writers' Association of America's 2014 Hall of Fame ballot.

    January 16, 2014

  • Still in favor of CCS project We’re disappointed with the results of the Cooperstown Central School vote on the capital construction project and we hope this isn’t the end of the project.

    December 19, 2013

  • Yes to CCS construction project Bottom line: who among us wants to say no to a new bathroom for the autism class?

    December 5, 2013

  • House GOP to blame for shutdown There's no reason to delay giving this opinion with needless words: Congressional Republicans are at fault for the government shutdown.

    October 3, 2013

  • Take signs of concussions seriously As the fall sports season heats up, we want to remind coaches, parents and athletes to take signs of concussions seriously.

    September 26, 2013

  • Giant pumpkins are worth seeing PumpkinFest has become such a wonderful tradition in Cooperstown. The two-day event is certainly unique to anyone who has not seen thousand pound pumpkins before.

    September 19, 2013

  • Don't forget to sign up for STAR A critical deadline is approaching for New York state property owners. Very soon, more than 2.6 million New Yorkers who receive the School Tax Relief exemption will need to re-apply as part of the state's efforts to combat fraud within the system.

    September 12, 2013

  • Returning to school takes some adjusting It’s that time of year again as students are beginning a new school year. They are probably feeling excited or a little sad that summer vacation has come to an end. Most likely they are feeling a little bit of both emotions.

    September 5, 2013

  • Cooperstown should be proud of athletes Any way you look at it, Cooperstown had a great sports year in 2012-13.

    August 29, 2013

New Today!
Poll

How do you like our new website?

Its great!
Its ok
Not very much
I dont like it at all
     View Results