Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Our Opinion

March 7, 2013

Blindsided by CV-S vote

(Continued)

If the contract were approved, the team would have remained in Class D. With the estimated number of students interested in playing, based on a survey done at the school, Brigham said the school’s expenses for participation would have been less than $2,400 ($219 per player on varsity and $165 per player on modified). That did not include transportation.

Brigham said the survey showed that there were two students who wanted to play on varsity and 12 on modified. The athletic director said he talked to the varsity boys soccer coach, Teri Adams, and she said she did not foresee it having much of an impact on fielding her team. Brigham said he was not concerned about having students playing the “unfamiliar” sport, because it was not really that “unfamiliar.” He said many of the district’s students played youth ball at Richfield Springs.

Another shocker that came from the board meeting was the likelihood that CV-S will not be able to field a varsity softball team this season. It is too late to merge with another school this season, but Brigham said it might have to be looked at in the future.

According to Brigham, five out of 10 teams (including CV-S) in the Tri-Valley League alone are in the same boat, sighting Franklin as one of them.

Text Only
Our Opinion
  • Roses to ... A week later, however, the feeling we are left with is pride.

    May 29, 2014

  • Paid parking here to stay State Supreme Court Judge Kevin Dowd laid down the political challenge to opponents of Cooperstown's on-street paid-parking program, but it turns out that Dowd's challenge has gone unanswered.

    January 30, 2014

  • A Great Class for 2014 We're excited by last week's announcement of the results of the Baseball Writers' Association of America's 2014 Hall of Fame ballot.

    January 16, 2014

  • Still in favor of CCS project We’re disappointed with the results of the Cooperstown Central School vote on the capital construction project and we hope this isn’t the end of the project.

    December 19, 2013

  • Yes to CCS construction project Bottom line: who among us wants to say no to a new bathroom for the autism class?

    December 5, 2013

  • House GOP to blame for shutdown There's no reason to delay giving this opinion with needless words: Congressional Republicans are at fault for the government shutdown.

    October 3, 2013

  • Take signs of concussions seriously As the fall sports season heats up, we want to remind coaches, parents and athletes to take signs of concussions seriously.

    September 26, 2013

  • Giant pumpkins are worth seeing PumpkinFest has become such a wonderful tradition in Cooperstown. The two-day event is certainly unique to anyone who has not seen thousand pound pumpkins before.

    September 19, 2013

  • Don't forget to sign up for STAR A critical deadline is approaching for New York state property owners. Very soon, more than 2.6 million New Yorkers who receive the School Tax Relief exemption will need to re-apply as part of the state's efforts to combat fraud within the system.

    September 12, 2013

  • Returning to school takes some adjusting It’s that time of year again as students are beginning a new school year. They are probably feeling excited or a little sad that summer vacation has come to an end. Most likely they are feeling a little bit of both emotions.

    September 5, 2013

New Today!
Poll

How do you like our new website?

Its great!
Its ok
Not very much
I dont like it at all
     View Results