Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Our Opinion

August 30, 2012

Watch out for CVS

(Continued)

The following NYSOA guidelines can help prevent or reduce eye and vision problems associated with  computer vision syndrome:

• Check the height and arrangement of the computer. According to optometrists, a computer screen  should be 15 to 20 degrees below eye level (about 4 or 5 inches) as measured from the center of the  screen and held 20 to 28 inches away from the eyes.

• Check for glare on the computer screen. If  possible, windows or other light sources should not be  directly visible when sitting in front of the monitor. If this happens, turn the desk or computer to prevent  glare on the screen.

• Reduce the amount of lighting in the room to match the computer screen. A  lower-wattage light can be substituted for a bright overhead light or a dimmer switch may be installed  to give flexible control of room lighting.

• Keep blinking. To minimize the chances of developing dry eye when using a computer or digital  device, make an effort to blink frequently. Blinking keeps the front surface of the eye moist.

Most importantly, as part of the yearly, back-to-school checklist, students should see a doctor of  optometry for a comprehensive eye examination to ensure their eyes are healthy and functioning  properly. 

Text Only
Our Opinion
  • Roses to ... A week later, however, the feeling we are left with is pride.

    May 29, 2014

  • Paid parking here to stay State Supreme Court Judge Kevin Dowd laid down the political challenge to opponents of Cooperstown's on-street paid-parking program, but it turns out that Dowd's challenge has gone unanswered.

    January 30, 2014

  • A Great Class for 2014 We're excited by last week's announcement of the results of the Baseball Writers' Association of America's 2014 Hall of Fame ballot.

    January 16, 2014

  • Still in favor of CCS project We’re disappointed with the results of the Cooperstown Central School vote on the capital construction project and we hope this isn’t the end of the project.

    December 19, 2013

  • Yes to CCS construction project Bottom line: who among us wants to say no to a new bathroom for the autism class?

    December 5, 2013

  • House GOP to blame for shutdown There's no reason to delay giving this opinion with needless words: Congressional Republicans are at fault for the government shutdown.

    October 3, 2013

  • Take signs of concussions seriously As the fall sports season heats up, we want to remind coaches, parents and athletes to take signs of concussions seriously.

    September 26, 2013

  • Giant pumpkins are worth seeing PumpkinFest has become such a wonderful tradition in Cooperstown. The two-day event is certainly unique to anyone who has not seen thousand pound pumpkins before.

    September 19, 2013

  • Don't forget to sign up for STAR A critical deadline is approaching for New York state property owners. Very soon, more than 2.6 million New Yorkers who receive the School Tax Relief exemption will need to re-apply as part of the state's efforts to combat fraud within the system.

    September 12, 2013

  • Returning to school takes some adjusting It’s that time of year again as students are beginning a new school year. They are probably feeling excited or a little sad that summer vacation has come to an end. Most likely they are feeling a little bit of both emotions.

    September 5, 2013

New Today!
Poll

How do you like our new website?

Its great!
Its ok
Not very much
I dont like it at all
     View Results