Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Our Opinion

April 11, 2013

Earth Festival is a good start to spring

(Continued)

The EcoArt/Trendy Trash Contest and expanded children’s activities led by Milford Central School students will be featured. Earth Festival also provides an opportunity to get rid of some of that clutter at home and perhaps may encourage some spring cleaning. Event organizers invite attendees to drop off Styrofoam (white only), bubble wrap, empty inkjet cartridges, cellphones, eyeglasses, videotapes, CDs and used nylon monofilament fishing line at no charge. In addition previously non recyclables such as toothpaste tubes, cereal bags or lining, all brand pens, mechanical pencils and markers, including caps, all empty chips bags, Elmer’s glue bottles and diaper packaging will be taken. 

Empire Recycling will be back with the free Confidata Shredder service from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. 

Shoes and sneakers will also be collected for a minimal charge, through a program sponsored by Nike.

Text Only
Our Opinion
  • Roses to ... A week later, however, the feeling we are left with is pride.

    May 29, 2014

  • Paid parking here to stay State Supreme Court Judge Kevin Dowd laid down the political challenge to opponents of Cooperstown's on-street paid-parking program, but it turns out that Dowd's challenge has gone unanswered.

    January 30, 2014

  • A Great Class for 2014 We're excited by last week's announcement of the results of the Baseball Writers' Association of America's 2014 Hall of Fame ballot.

    January 16, 2014

  • Still in favor of CCS project We’re disappointed with the results of the Cooperstown Central School vote on the capital construction project and we hope this isn’t the end of the project.

    December 19, 2013

  • Yes to CCS construction project Bottom line: who among us wants to say no to a new bathroom for the autism class?

    December 5, 2013

  • House GOP to blame for shutdown There's no reason to delay giving this opinion with needless words: Congressional Republicans are at fault for the government shutdown.

    October 3, 2013

  • Take signs of concussions seriously As the fall sports season heats up, we want to remind coaches, parents and athletes to take signs of concussions seriously.

    September 26, 2013

  • Giant pumpkins are worth seeing PumpkinFest has become such a wonderful tradition in Cooperstown. The two-day event is certainly unique to anyone who has not seen thousand pound pumpkins before.

    September 19, 2013

  • Don't forget to sign up for STAR A critical deadline is approaching for New York state property owners. Very soon, more than 2.6 million New Yorkers who receive the School Tax Relief exemption will need to re-apply as part of the state's efforts to combat fraud within the system.

    September 12, 2013

  • Returning to school takes some adjusting It’s that time of year again as students are beginning a new school year. They are probably feeling excited or a little sad that summer vacation has come to an end. Most likely they are feeling a little bit of both emotions.

    September 5, 2013

New Today!
Poll

How do you like our new website?

Its great!
Its ok
Not very much
I dont like it at all
     View Results