Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Our Opinion

July 18, 2013

Getting a plaque is not supposed to be easy

(Continued)

The Hall’s Senior Director of Communications and Education Brad Horn has said he doesn’t see it as a catastrophe for Cooperstown or the museum, but more like a statistical variance.

“The understanding is that to earn election to the Hall of Fame is very difficult,” Horn said in January. “To earn 75 percent of the vote is meant to be hard. Part of the process is 600 ballots went out, and 569 were returned and only five were turned in blank. For the most part, a lot of guys got votes and are in the 15-year process of being reviewed.”

Horn is right; being a member of the Hall should be the ultimate honor. It should not be easy to become a member of such an elite group. If it were, where would the integrity go? It would take away the meaning and gratification.

Each year, more and more voters are ignoring the ballot’s “character” clause. It needs to be taken more seriously or taken out of the guidelines, if not.

Why reward the cheaters? And why be so quick to change the process? It is not the first time nobody has been elected. In fact, this marks the eighth time. It does not mean Cooperstown, from this day forward, will be the Hall of Ordinary, the Hall of Alleged Saints or the Hall of Echoes. Take a look at who will be on the next couple of ballots. We may in fact be in store for some big years.

 

 

 

Text Only
Our Opinion
  • Roses to ... A week later, however, the feeling we are left with is pride.

    May 29, 2014

  • Paid parking here to stay State Supreme Court Judge Kevin Dowd laid down the political challenge to opponents of Cooperstown's on-street paid-parking program, but it turns out that Dowd's challenge has gone unanswered.

    January 30, 2014

  • A Great Class for 2014 We're excited by last week's announcement of the results of the Baseball Writers' Association of America's 2014 Hall of Fame ballot.

    January 16, 2014

  • Still in favor of CCS project We’re disappointed with the results of the Cooperstown Central School vote on the capital construction project and we hope this isn’t the end of the project.

    December 19, 2013

  • Yes to CCS construction project Bottom line: who among us wants to say no to a new bathroom for the autism class?

    December 5, 2013

  • House GOP to blame for shutdown There's no reason to delay giving this opinion with needless words: Congressional Republicans are at fault for the government shutdown.

    October 3, 2013

  • Take signs of concussions seriously As the fall sports season heats up, we want to remind coaches, parents and athletes to take signs of concussions seriously.

    September 26, 2013

  • Giant pumpkins are worth seeing PumpkinFest has become such a wonderful tradition in Cooperstown. The two-day event is certainly unique to anyone who has not seen thousand pound pumpkins before.

    September 19, 2013

  • Don't forget to sign up for STAR A critical deadline is approaching for New York state property owners. Very soon, more than 2.6 million New Yorkers who receive the School Tax Relief exemption will need to re-apply as part of the state's efforts to combat fraud within the system.

    September 12, 2013

  • Returning to school takes some adjusting It’s that time of year again as students are beginning a new school year. They are probably feeling excited or a little sad that summer vacation has come to an end. Most likely they are feeling a little bit of both emotions.

    September 5, 2013

New Today!
Poll

How do you like our new website?

Its great!
Its ok
Not very much
I dont like it at all
     View Results