Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Our Opinion

January 16, 2014

A Great Class for 2014

(Continued)

Maddux missed being a unanimous Hall of Famer by 16 votes. We think 555 votes out of 571 is a fine number. We agree Maddux is a first-ballot Hall of Famer and a great pitcher. But we wonder if he should have been unanimous when Cy Young, Babe Ruth, Ty Cobb, Mickey Mantle, Tom Seaver, Nolan Ryan and Cal Ripken, Jr., were not.

We also don’t believe that players who used steroids or other PEDs should be enshrined in the Hall of Fame. Period. And while we know that not everyone who used will be caught, we think that is a poor argument for allowing known PED users to be inducted. We’d also like to draw a line that almost no one seems to recognize: The accomplishments of Barry Bonds (and Roger Clemens and Pete Rose, for that matter) are in the Hall of Fame. Their memorabilia are on display. Their teams are celebrated. Their likenesses, are, in fact, in the Hall of Fame. But those players will likely never be enshrined and we believe that they never should be.

Those are debates for another day. The process of voting could be amended. The results are sometimes different from what one fan or columnist might want. But those concerns seem misplaced this month.

The class is 2014 is an excellent one. We can hardly wait for Induction Day. 

Text Only
Our Opinion
  • Roses to ... A week later, however, the feeling we are left with is pride.

    May 29, 2014

  • Paid parking here to stay State Supreme Court Judge Kevin Dowd laid down the political challenge to opponents of Cooperstown's on-street paid-parking program, but it turns out that Dowd's challenge has gone unanswered.

    January 30, 2014

  • A Great Class for 2014 We're excited by last week's announcement of the results of the Baseball Writers' Association of America's 2014 Hall of Fame ballot.

    January 16, 2014

  • Still in favor of CCS project We’re disappointed with the results of the Cooperstown Central School vote on the capital construction project and we hope this isn’t the end of the project.

    December 19, 2013

  • Yes to CCS construction project Bottom line: who among us wants to say no to a new bathroom for the autism class?

    December 5, 2013

  • House GOP to blame for shutdown There's no reason to delay giving this opinion with needless words: Congressional Republicans are at fault for the government shutdown.

    October 3, 2013

  • Take signs of concussions seriously As the fall sports season heats up, we want to remind coaches, parents and athletes to take signs of concussions seriously.

    September 26, 2013

  • Giant pumpkins are worth seeing PumpkinFest has become such a wonderful tradition in Cooperstown. The two-day event is certainly unique to anyone who has not seen thousand pound pumpkins before.

    September 19, 2013

  • Don't forget to sign up for STAR A critical deadline is approaching for New York state property owners. Very soon, more than 2.6 million New Yorkers who receive the School Tax Relief exemption will need to re-apply as part of the state's efforts to combat fraud within the system.

    September 12, 2013

  • Returning to school takes some adjusting It’s that time of year again as students are beginning a new school year. They are probably feeling excited or a little sad that summer vacation has come to an end. Most likely they are feeling a little bit of both emotions.

    September 5, 2013

New Today!
Poll

How do you like our new website?

Its great!
Its ok
Not very much
I dont like it at all
     View Results