Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Our Opinion

January 30, 2014

Paid parking here to stay

(Continued)

Katz, Tillapaugh and trustees Cindy Falk and Jim Dean all voted for paid parking in 2013. Allstadt and the other two trustees who were voted into office later in 2013, Bruce Maxson and Joan Nicols, have not voted on the issue, but all three have spoken in favor of paid parking.

To repeal the paid-parking law, Local Law No. 3 of 2013, opponents would need four votes. That translates to four electoral wins in the next two years. But with at most one contested election in 2014, and only two trustee positions up next year, it is unlikely that there will be enough votes to repeal paid parking until 2015.

We suspect by then it will cease to be an issue politically. The program – which raised about $188,000 in 2013 – is projected to raise more than $600,000 for the village by then. Repealing paid parking would require a lot of extra taxes, or a huge cut in services, to replace those lost funds in future budgets.

Residents and business owners may continue to grumble about the law, but we think their chances to repeal it have now passed. On-street paid parking is here to stay in Cooperstown.

Text Only
Our Opinion
  • Roses to ... A week later, however, the feeling we are left with is pride.

    May 29, 2014

  • Paid parking here to stay State Supreme Court Judge Kevin Dowd laid down the political challenge to opponents of Cooperstown's on-street paid-parking program, but it turns out that Dowd's challenge has gone unanswered.

    January 30, 2014

  • A Great Class for 2014 We're excited by last week's announcement of the results of the Baseball Writers' Association of America's 2014 Hall of Fame ballot.

    January 16, 2014

  • Still in favor of CCS project We’re disappointed with the results of the Cooperstown Central School vote on the capital construction project and we hope this isn’t the end of the project.

    December 19, 2013

  • Yes to CCS construction project Bottom line: who among us wants to say no to a new bathroom for the autism class?

    December 5, 2013

  • House GOP to blame for shutdown There's no reason to delay giving this opinion with needless words: Congressional Republicans are at fault for the government shutdown.

    October 3, 2013

  • Take signs of concussions seriously As the fall sports season heats up, we want to remind coaches, parents and athletes to take signs of concussions seriously.

    September 26, 2013

  • Giant pumpkins are worth seeing PumpkinFest has become such a wonderful tradition in Cooperstown. The two-day event is certainly unique to anyone who has not seen thousand pound pumpkins before.

    September 19, 2013

  • Don't forget to sign up for STAR A critical deadline is approaching for New York state property owners. Very soon, more than 2.6 million New Yorkers who receive the School Tax Relief exemption will need to re-apply as part of the state's efforts to combat fraud within the system.

    September 12, 2013

  • Returning to school takes some adjusting It’s that time of year again as students are beginning a new school year. They are probably feeling excited or a little sad that summer vacation has come to an end. Most likely they are feeling a little bit of both emotions.

    September 5, 2013

New Today!
Poll

How do you like our new website?

Its great!
Its ok
Not very much
I dont like it at all
     View Results