Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Our Opinion

August 1, 2013

Lackluster weekend not a shocker

(Continued)

With Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Frank Thomas on the ballot for the first time next year, and Randy Johnson and Ken Griffey, Jr. as first timers in 2015 and 2016 respectively, some headline years are looming for the Hall of Fame.

And since New York Yankees reliever Mariano Rivera is retiring this year and Derek Jeter is nearing retirement, Mower said she thinks there may even be a record-breaking crowd in the next decade. Rivera’s chances of being inducted in 2019 is as close to a sure thing as the Hall of Fame will ever get.

Sure, this weekend might have stunk for business in Cooperstown. However, perhaps baseball should celebrate — as it may be the last Cooperstown weekend of innocence. The Hall of Fame voting members of the Baseball Writers Association of America stood up for integrity. Although they were presented with a star-studded Hall of Fame ballot, they kept those connected with steroid use out for at least one year. Will it be possible forever? probably not.

Being a member of the Hall of Fame should be considered an ultimate honor and it should not be easy to become a member of such an elite group. Although we would love to see local businesses prosper, that is not what the Hall of Fame Induction is all about.

Text Only
Our Opinion
  • Roses to ... A week later, however, the feeling we are left with is pride.

    May 29, 2014

  • Paid parking here to stay State Supreme Court Judge Kevin Dowd laid down the political challenge to opponents of Cooperstown's on-street paid-parking program, but it turns out that Dowd's challenge has gone unanswered.

    January 30, 2014

  • A Great Class for 2014 We're excited by last week's announcement of the results of the Baseball Writers' Association of America's 2014 Hall of Fame ballot.

    January 16, 2014

  • Still in favor of CCS project We’re disappointed with the results of the Cooperstown Central School vote on the capital construction project and we hope this isn’t the end of the project.

    December 19, 2013

  • Yes to CCS construction project Bottom line: who among us wants to say no to a new bathroom for the autism class?

    December 5, 2013

  • House GOP to blame for shutdown There's no reason to delay giving this opinion with needless words: Congressional Republicans are at fault for the government shutdown.

    October 3, 2013

  • Take signs of concussions seriously As the fall sports season heats up, we want to remind coaches, parents and athletes to take signs of concussions seriously.

    September 26, 2013

  • Giant pumpkins are worth seeing PumpkinFest has become such a wonderful tradition in Cooperstown. The two-day event is certainly unique to anyone who has not seen thousand pound pumpkins before.

    September 19, 2013

  • Don't forget to sign up for STAR A critical deadline is approaching for New York state property owners. Very soon, more than 2.6 million New Yorkers who receive the School Tax Relief exemption will need to re-apply as part of the state's efforts to combat fraud within the system.

    September 12, 2013

  • Returning to school takes some adjusting It’s that time of year again as students are beginning a new school year. They are probably feeling excited or a little sad that summer vacation has come to an end. Most likely they are feeling a little bit of both emotions.

    September 5, 2013

New Today!
Poll

How do you like our new website?

Its great!
Its ok
Not very much
I dont like it at all
     View Results