Cooperstown Crier - Your Source for Hometown News - Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame

Our Opinion

March 14, 2013

Groff is off to good start

(Continued)

Good for her for setting new goals and pushing herself. And it looks like she is headed in the right direction. Groff is displaying strong early season form with her second podium finish.

In the Clermont ITU Pan American Cup, Groff was among a lead group of four, including American Sara McLarty (Clermont, Fla.), out of the water and rode with the leaders throughout the 20k bike. She posted the day’s fastest 5k split (17:43) en route to a six-second victory over Frederiksen.

We are rooting for the triathlete to meet her own high expectations of getting back to the Olympics and making it on the podium next time.

Text Only
Our Opinion
  • Roses to ... A week later, however, the feeling we are left with is pride.

    May 29, 2014

  • Paid parking here to stay State Supreme Court Judge Kevin Dowd laid down the political challenge to opponents of Cooperstown's on-street paid-parking program, but it turns out that Dowd's challenge has gone unanswered.

    January 30, 2014

  • A Great Class for 2014 We're excited by last week's announcement of the results of the Baseball Writers' Association of America's 2014 Hall of Fame ballot.

    January 16, 2014

  • Still in favor of CCS project We’re disappointed with the results of the Cooperstown Central School vote on the capital construction project and we hope this isn’t the end of the project.

    December 19, 2013

  • Yes to CCS construction project Bottom line: who among us wants to say no to a new bathroom for the autism class?

    December 5, 2013

  • House GOP to blame for shutdown There's no reason to delay giving this opinion with needless words: Congressional Republicans are at fault for the government shutdown.

    October 3, 2013

  • Take signs of concussions seriously As the fall sports season heats up, we want to remind coaches, parents and athletes to take signs of concussions seriously.

    September 26, 2013

  • Giant pumpkins are worth seeing PumpkinFest has become such a wonderful tradition in Cooperstown. The two-day event is certainly unique to anyone who has not seen thousand pound pumpkins before.

    September 19, 2013

  • Don't forget to sign up for STAR A critical deadline is approaching for New York state property owners. Very soon, more than 2.6 million New Yorkers who receive the School Tax Relief exemption will need to re-apply as part of the state's efforts to combat fraud within the system.

    September 12, 2013

  • Returning to school takes some adjusting It’s that time of year again as students are beginning a new school year. They are probably feeling excited or a little sad that summer vacation has come to an end. Most likely they are feeling a little bit of both emotions.

    September 5, 2013

New Today!
Poll

How do you like our new website?

Its great!
Its ok
Not very much
I dont like it at all
     View Results