The Lyn Edinger Memorial Golf Tournament, sponsored by the Cooperstown Rotary at Meadow Links Golf Course, was held Sept. 22. Competitors played captain and crew format on the 18-hole course. The winning team was Bob Schlather, Bill Coleman and Rodney and Mason Campbell.

The second-place team was Connie and Mike Jastremski and April and Jason Bronel.

Third place was won by the team of Charlie, Garrett and Owen Ellsworth and Abigail Ellsworth Caspar.

The Most Honest Foursome, for the team with the highest score, was won by Anoel Kelly, Rob White, Chris Spencer and David Chase.


Matthew Lippitt has been appointed to a six-year term as assessor for the town Guilford. According to a media release, he also serves as an assessor in the towns of Hartwick, Butternuts and Morris. His office hours in Guilford will be from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Wednesdays or by appointment.


The team of Robert Schlather, Jeff Wait, Denny Mirabito and Earle Hayford combined for a first-place win at the Pathfinder Village-Baseball Hall of Fame Golf Invitational, a charity event held at the Leatherstocking Golf Course on Sept. 4.

The NBT Bank-Albany team of Alan Alexander, Jerry Mastriani, John Roberts and Bob Snyder Sr., placed second with a 125; Chris Baker, Brian Bruno, Mike Brown and Ron Clark, representing Coca-Cola Bottling, placed third.Mike Perrino and Frank Vergari received Closest to the Pin prizes, at Hole 3 and 12, respectively.

The Fenimore Art Museum in Cooperstown hosted its 12th annual Art by the Lake juried art invitational on Saturday, Aug. 17. Tracy Helgeson of Cooperstown won best of show and received the Fenimore Award. Other awards presented included for photography, Emmanuel Vaucher of Camden; painting, Tom Hussey of Auburn; 2D/mixed media, Richard Kathmann of East Meredith; sculpture/3D, Erik Halvorson of Oneonta; painters, Lu D Huang of Norwich; judges, Susan Jones Kenyon of Cooperstown; and audience favorite: Christopher Wakefield of Edmeston.


Winners of the recent annual Cash Raffle sponsored by the Richfield Springs Area Chamber of Commerce include $400 winner Dawn Seamon of Richfield Springs, $200 winner Nancy Melville of West Winfield and $100 winner Kate Huxtable of Richfield Springs.


A local artist was named the first prize winner in the first all New York artists rendition of the Cherry Valley Sculpture Trail.

According to a media release, first prize, which carries a stipend of $1,000, was awarded to local Springfield Center artist Akira Niitsu for his work, Galaxy Vessel. The artist operates a studio and foundry in the former Springfield Center school building on U.S. Route 20.

The work is described as a play on dualities. Intertwining strands of stainless steel and brass, some twisted into nests, others reaching into space horizontally and vertically, create balanced, interconnected forms. The sculpture becomes a galaxy, evoking an infinite universe, transforming and transcending its materials.

The second prize of $500 was awarded to Christopher Yockey of Astoria, Queens, for his piece, Wedding Gift. Wedding Gift, created entirely of stainless steel, is described as representing an industrial age that presents a dramatic aura against its natural surroundings. Its repetitive forms and cut-out shapes are believed to evoke organic qualities, making for a harmonious dialogue between a man-made object and nature itself.

Art curator/gallerist Tamara Saba judged the show.

This year’s Sculpture Trail is dedicated to the memory of artist Devra Freelander. Freelander died in Bushwick, Brooklyn, after being hit by a cement truck while riding her bicycle, shortly after installing her sculpture in Cherry Valley. Future Artifact, created with artist Gracelee Lawrence, was displayed in Times Square for six months before arriving in Cherry Valley. Freelander, who was 28-years old, was a graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design and had just completed a residency at Sculpture Space in Utica.

Recommended for you