Nicole Dauchy of Leonardsville and Laura Meckel of Cooperstown were recently inducted into SUNY Delhi’s Chi Tau chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing.

According to a media release, more than 60 students were recognized during a virtual induction hosted by the SUNY Delhi School of Nursing in May.

Membership is open to baccalaureate and graduate nursing students who demonstrate excellence in scholarship and to nurse leaders exhibiting exceptional achievements in nursing.


Cooperstown Central School senior Caitlin Baker is the recipient of the Cooperstown Rotary Foundation’s 2020 Catherine Black Scholarship.

According to a media release, she will be acknowledged at commencement on June 28, and will receive the $1,200 scholarship by mail. She will also be honored at a future meeting of the Rotary Club at The Otesaga.

The award was created in 2015 in memory of Black, a charter member and founder of the local Rotary Club’s charity. Black became the first female president of the Cooperstown club and went on to be one of the first female District Governors.

Baker was a College For Every Student mentor and member of the National Honor Society and National Technical Honor Society. She also worked as a historic interpreter at The Farmers’ Museum. She will receive her cosmetology license through BOCES upon graduation.

Baker will attend SUNY Cobleskill this fall to major in early childhood education (birth to 5 years old). Her goal is to become a preschool teacher and eventually own her own daycare center or preschool and salon.

Past recipients of the scholarship include the first recipient in 2015, Bella Anania. Others include Sara Cook in 2016, Ethan Niles in 2017, Margaret Harmon in 2018, and Sam Bonderoff in 2019.



Stacy Kobler of West Winfield and Rachel Brooks, Christina Gurley and Anne Petriski, all of Richfield Springs, will graduate from the Herkimer-Fulton-Hamilton-Otsego BOCES Adult Practical Nursing Program on June 18. They all attended the 20-month program as part-time students and were part of an overall class of 33 students.


Kyle Davidson of Laurens received his degree from Grove City College in Grove City, Pennsylvania, on May 16. Davidson earned Bachelor of Science/Bachelor of Arts degrees in economics and marketing management and finance.


Sarah Cook of Cherry Valley received a bachelor’s degree in global studies from Assumption College in Worcester, Massachusetts, in a virtual celebration of its graduates held on May 10.

Assumption has rescheduled its formal 2020 commencement ceremony for Aug. 23.


Kayla A. Craig of Schenevus graduated from Clemson University in May with a Master of Arts degree in communication, technology and society.

Dean’s List


Katrina Rifenburgh of Worcester was named to the spring semester dean’s list at Becker College with campuses in Worcester and Leicester, Massachusetts.


The following area SUNY Oneonta students were named to the provost’s list for the spring semester. Nicholas Baker of Cooperstown, Riley Brown of Fly Creek, Amber Genova of Cooperstown, Alexandra Johnson of New Berlin, Alexia Massaroni of Worcester and Isabel Mendoza of New Berlin,

Students must earn a perfect 4.0 grade-point average while carrying a course load of 12 hours or more to qualify for the provost’s list.

The following area residents were named to the spring semester dean’s list at SUNY Oneonta. Leigha Hall of Sharon Springs, Joshua Cornish of Maryland, Michael Mayton of Richfield Springs, Alina Bischof of Cooperstown, Connor Manion of West Winfield, Dorothy Zeisler of Schenevus, Dorothy Oakley of Cherry Valley, Jessica VanBuren of Sharon Springs, Doreen Capasso of Maryland, Autumn Welsh-Travis of Milford, Rabiatu Braimah of Cooperstown, Katie Marie Eklund of Mount Vision, Logan Haney of Hartwick, Tracy Kokell of Mount Vision, Sabrina Preston of Schenevus, Erika Spranger of Schenevus, Tayah Simmons of Leonardsville, Alexis Clark of Richfield Springs, Nicole Connolly of Richfield Springs, Claudia Preston of Schenevus, Zachary Brown of Fly Creek, Cailynn Rogers of Mount Vision, Mikaela Mazerolle of Maryland, Kalyna Rogers of Richfield Springs and Michael Turner of New Berlin.


Benjamin Worman of Milford was named to the spring semester dean’s list at Hudson Valley Community College in Troy.


Kelly Mooney of Cooperstown was named to the spring semester dean’s list at the College of William & Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia.


President’s list

Area students named to the president’s list for the spring semester at Siena College in Loudonville include Peyton Coones of Schuyler Lake and Allison Cross of Sharon Springs. 

Dean’s list

Area students named to the spring semester dean’s list at Siena College include Isaiah Johnson of Cooperstown and Jonah Tangorra of West Winfield.


President’s list

Kayla N. Sellers of Sharon Springs was named to the spring semester president’s list at SUNY Canton.

Dean’s list

Morgan R. Randall of Richfield Springs and Brianna Russman of Sharon Springs were named to the spring semester dean’s list at SUNY Canton.

Recommended for you