Wilkes University student Rima Avasatthi of Milford was one of more than 95 students, faculty and staff recognized at the Extracurricular Awards Luncheon for their contributions to activities outside the classroom. The event was held April 25. Avasatthi received the Two Years of Service award presented by Wilkes University Student Government. Wilkes University is in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania.


Jeffrey W. Yaun Jr. of Van Hornesville has been inducted into the St. Lawrence University chapter of Phi Sigma Tau, the international honorary society for philosophy. Yaun, a member of the Class of 2021, is majoring in economics.


The SUNY Oneonta History Department faculty recognized 12 students for academic achievement and outstanding essay writing during a recent awards ceremony. Among them were local students September Schaffer of Roseboom who received Ethel Ray & Ada Crippen Award and Connor Davidson of Hartwick who won the Maynard Redfield History Essay Competition introductory essay category.

Schaffer is also among 24 new inductees of SUNY Oneonta’s Alpha-Kappa-Iota chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the National History Honor Society.


Peter A. Xanthaky of Cooperstown was recently honored at SUNY Canton’s Honors Convocation for being among those with the highest grade-point averages for the year.