Milford Central School

September students of the month at Milford Central School are sixth-grader Carly Mossman-Carillo and high school junior Hailey Maison.


Jeffrey W. Yaun Jr. of Van Hornesville was recently inducted into the St. Lawrence University chapter of Phi Sigma Tau, the international honorary society for philosophy. Yaun, a member of the Class of 2021, is majoring in economics.


Rebecca Morosko of Cooperstown and Caree Acre of New Berlin were among more than 50 outstanding SUNY Oneonta students recognized at a recent Academic Achievement Awards reception.

According to a media release, in addition to their work in the classroom, students were honored for distinguishing themselves in other ways, including research, activism, mentoring, athletics, involvement in campus activities and volunteerism.


Emily Vrooman of Fly Creek completed a summer internship requirement with Cape Cod Rehabilitation in Mashpee, Massachusetts.

Vrooman, a member of the class of 2021 at Colby-Sawyer College in New London, New Hampshire, is majoring in exercise science.


Two area first-year students were recently inducted into SUNY Delhi’s chapter of the Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society. They are Ava Baker of Cooperstown and Cameron Kellogg of Burlington Flats.


The Oneonta Soccer Club awarded scholarships recently to Kyle Santello, Cooperstown Central School District, $500; Trevor Fancher, Worcester Central School District, $250; and Nathaniel Miller, Cooperstown Central School District, $250.


Katrina Rifenburgh of Worcester was recently inducted into the Alpha Lambda Delta honor society at Becker College in Worcester, Massachusetts. Rifenburgh is pursuing a Bachelor of Arts degree in interactive media design, computer game design concentration. 


Cooperstown Central School June graduates Amanda Snyder and William Zoel Friedman were each awarded $500 scholarships by Charles H. Bassett Youth Foundation President Clarke Bassett. The students received their scholarships at Bassett Medical Center in Cooperstown on May 13.

Friedman, who will attend Tufts University, received the Mary Augusta and Wilson T. Bassett Scholarship for excellence in scholarship, good character and exemplary service to others in the community. An honor student, Friedman has been a scholar athlete throughout high school.

Snyder received the Elizabeth and Benjamin Bassett Scholarship, which recognizes excellence in academics, balanced development and a willingness to overcome challenges and seize opportunities. Snyder is captain of the volleyball team, on the honor roll and has received scholar athlete awards every year in high school. Her plans are to attend SUNY Oneonta to earn her bachelor’s degree in psychology and go on to graduate school for her master’s degree.

The scholarships were awarded on behalf of the Charles H. Bassett Youth Foundation, which, according to a media release, partners with The Community Foundation for South Central New York to sustain and increase its capacity to help younger people in the Broome, Otsego and Tioga county areas.



Two area college students received $1,500 scholarships from Farm Credit East, an agricultural lending cooperative with an office outside Cooperstown.

Rileigh Mumbulo of Edmeston is majoring in agricultural engineering technology at SUNY Morrisville. She hopes to diversify her family’s eighth-generation dairy farm.

Megan Wilmot of Cherry Valley is majoring in animal science at Pennsylvania State University in pursuit of a career as a large animal veterinarian.



Recommended for you