Officials at the National Baseball Hall of Fame  and museum said, this week, 38 hall of famers are expected to return for the hall’s Sept. 8 induction ceremony.

As of Aug. 16, 41 total hall of famers, including 2021 inductees Derek Jeter, Ted Simmons and Larry Walker, are scheduled to be at the ceremony on the grounds of the Clark Sports Center, according to a media release.

The Class of 2020, which includes the late Marvin Miller along with Jeter, Simmons and Walker, will be inducted at a ceremony beginning at 1:30 p.m. The ceremony will air live on MLB Network, which has televised the event every year since its launch in 2009. Jeter, Simmons and Walker are expected to speak, with former Major League Baseball Players Association executive director Don Fehr speaking about Miller.

Admission to tceremony is free.

Hall of Fame members expected to attend include Johnny Bench, Bert Blyleven, Wade Boggs, George Brett, Rod Carew, Orlando Cepeda, Dennis Eckersley, Rollie Fingers, Pat Gillick, Goose Gossage, Ken Griffey Jr., Rickey Henderson, Trevor Hoffman, Reggie Jackson, Fergie Jenkins, Barry Larkin, Juan Marichal, Edgar Martinez, Pedro Martínez, Paul Molitor, Jack Morris, Mike Mussina, Tony Pérez, Tim Raines, Cal Ripken,  Mariano Rivera, Iván Rodríguez, Ryne Sandberg, Mike Schmidt, Bud Selig, John Schuerholz, Lee Smith, John Smoltz, Frank Thomas, Joe Torre, Alan Trammell, Dave Winfield and Robin Yount.

Seating is free and unlimited and the ceremony is expected to last three hours, unless severe weather forces cancellation. 

Based on Otsego County, New York state and Centers for Disease Control guidelines, unvaccinated individuals attending the ceremony are requested to wear masks.

The museum will be open extended hours from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. that day.

Trending Video

Recommended for you