Tillapaugh gets no GOP challenger; three to run for two trustee seats

 Cooperstown Mayor Ellen Tillapaugh will not have a Republican challenger in the March village elections, but the GOP has nominated a candidate for one of two open Board of Trustee positions.

Mary-Margaret Robbins was nominated by the Republican caucus Saturday, Jan. 25, according to village officials.

Robbins will run against incumbents MacGuire Benton and Joe Membrino. Benton was unopposed last year in filling an unexpired one-year term. Membrino was appointed by Tillapaugh last year to fill the remainder of a term from a position vacated by Lou Allstadt.

The two trustee candidates with the most votes will win election. In Cooperstown, trustees serve three-year terms and mayors serve two-year terms.

Tillapaugh, Membrino and Benton were nominated to run for re-election at the village Democratic caucus, which was held Wednesday, Jan. 22.

Tillapaugh, who was unopposed in winning a first term in 2018, said she wants to be re-elected in part to see the completion of several village projects, including the Main Street project and the Doubleday Field re-construction.

Independents can still run for village office by filling a petition with more than 50 signatures.

Independent petitions can be filled from Feb. 4 to Feb. 11.

State law prohibits elections from taking place on St. Patrick’s Day, which is a Tuesday this year, so village elections will take place Wednesday, March 18.

Recommended for you