Cooperstown senior Lucy Ford qualified for the state championships with a victory in the Division II high jump during the Section Three Championships at Cicero-North Syracuse on May 29.

Ford cleared 5 feet for the D-II title, giving her a chance to successfully defend her D-II state championship in the event. Last season, Ford won the D-II state title with a high jump of 5-5.

Ford will compete this weekend in the state championships back at C-NS.

Kristin Ratliff and Samantha Fanion contributed top-five finishes for the Hawkeyes.

Ratliff placed third among D-I and D-II athletes combined in the 2,000 steeplechase at 7 minutes, 34.25 seconds. Alana Pearl of Fayettevile-Manlius won the overall title with a D-I time of 7:06.45. Runner-up Rachel Garn of Marcellus had the top D-II time, at 7:23.74.

Fanion placed fourth in the D-II high jump at 4-10 for Cooperstown, which also received a pair of sixths in D-II competition from Grace LeCates in the 400 (1:02.34) and from Maya Wasson in the 100 hurdles (17.48).

Johnny Zhang paced Cooperstown’s boys with a sixth in the D-II triple jump (40-11.25).

Section Three Championships

at Cicero-North Syracuse

Division II Boys

Long jump: 1, Delee Williams (Inst. of Tech.) 22-1; 8, Johnny Zhang (Cooperstown) 18-9.25.

Triple jump: 1, Riley Synenki (West Canada) 44-11; 6, Johnny Zhang (Coop) 40-11.25.

Division II Girls

100 meters: 1, Abbie Fallon (Marcellus) 12.95; 7, Emily Calkins (Coop) 13.32.

400: 1, Skylar Pastor (South Jefferson) 57.10; 6, Grace LeCates (Coop) 1:02.34.

100 hurdles: 1, Breann Burns (Pulaski) 14.45; 6, Maya Wasson (Coop) 17.48.

400 hurdles: 1, Clara Jones (Hamilton) 1:05.14; 11, Kristin Ratliff (Coop) 1:12.47; 12, Danielle Perrino (Coop) 1:13.33.

Long jump: 1, Alycia Atwell-Chwazik (Remsen) 18-4.75; 16, Emily Calkins (Coop) 13-11.5.

High jump: 1, Lucy Ford (Coop) 5-0; 4, Samantha Fanion (Coop) 4-10; NH, Mya Stearns (Coop).

Shot put: 1, Megan Will (Remsen) 36-4.5; 9, Lucy Ford (Coop) 27-6.5.

Division I-II Girls

2,000 steeplechase: 1, Alana Pearl (Fayettevile-Manlius-I) 7:06.45; 2, Rachel Garn (Marcellus-II) 7:23.74; 3, Kristin Ratliff (Coop-II) 7:34.25.

Recommended for you