Section Three Tournament

Cooperstown’s Teddy Trosset shot an 86 on the opening day of the Section Three State Qualifiers at Colgate University’s par-72 Seven Oaks Golf Course and missed the cut for the second and final day of competition.

The top 20 golfers May 21 advanced for a shot at earning one of nine spots on the team that will represent Section Three at the state championships. Trosset tied for 30th as his 86 was three strokes shy of the cutline.

Mike May of Auburn is the first-round leader with a 74. West Canada Valley’s Bobby Davenport is two strokes back.


Section Three State Qualifiers

Cooperstown’s boys tennis season ended May 21 as Jimmy Anania and a pair of doubles tandems bowed out of the Section Three State Qualifiers at Utica Parkway Courts on the opening day.

Anania followed a first-round bye in singles play with a 6-1, 6-3 loss to Mexico’s Maximilian Lueders in the second round.

In doubles play, freshmen Tyler Bertram and Pierce Snyder also had a first-round bye. They went on to defeat Westhill’s Brian Sheridan and Matt Zabycz, 6-0, 7-6, before falling, 3-6, 6-4, 6-1, to J-D’s Ishan Gajra and Alex Tso in the quarterfinals.

Cooperstown teammates Will Cadwalader and John Kelley suffered a 6-1, 3-6, 6-1 setback to F-M’s James DeSorbo and Vincent Sorrentino in the opening round of doubles play.


Pulaski 5, Cooperstown 0

Cooperstown’s season ended with a first-round road loss in the Section Three Class C Tournament as sixth-seeded Pulaski shut out the 11th-seeded Hawkeyes.

Reilly Hall threw three scoreless innings before giving up a run in the fourth. Pulaski (11-7) followed with three runs in the fifth and another in the sixth against Hall, who went the distance for Cooperstown (10-10).

Cooperstown 13, WCV 8

Michael Perrino’s first varsity home run, a two-run shot over the 354-foot sign in left center, snapped a 7-all tie in the fifth inning and visiting Cooperstown went on to a Center State Conference victory.

“I haven’t had a home run in five years,” Cooperstown coach Frank Miosek said.

Perrino finished 2-for-4 with four RBIs.

Jack Donnelly contributed a pair of doubles, a single and four RBIs. Ray Cabrera and Sean Meyer had two hits apiece for Cooperstown (10-9), which finished at 7-5 in conference play and in a three-way tie for second place.

“I’m tremendously happy with our progress,” said Miosek.


First Team: Derek Beers, Franklin; Blake Elliott, Milford; Ethan Johnson, Cherry Valley-Springfield; Kyle King, Edmeston; Clayton Lyon, Edmeston; Taylor Price, Richfield Springs; Joe Terrano, Franklin; Paul Van Warner, Milford; Linton Wainright, Edmeston; Mason Weir, Laurens.

Second Team: Mitchel Barra, Laurens; Jon Boss, Richfield Springs; Jacob Darling, Schenevus; Billy Davis, Franklin; Trenton Dykstra, Richfield Springs; Jake Kroll, Cherry Valley-Springfield; Tanner Murphey, Worcester; Dylan Rollins, Edmeston; Jerry Soucia, Laurens; Jake Tabor, Milford.




Andes: Torin Bacon.

Cherry Valley-Springfield: David Collins, Ben Drugatz, Ryan Jaquay, Elijah Lyon, Nick Mills, Kurt Pressly, Noah Russo.

Downsville: Myles Liddell.

Edmeston: Bryce Graham, Logan Murray.

Gilbertsville-Mount Upton/Morris: Cameron Hill, Aidan Staib.

Schenevus/Worcester: Jacob Darling.


Andes: Cheyenne Weaver.

Cherry Valley-Springfield: Morgan Westerman.

Franklin: Lacey Cox, Jessica Downin, Mallory Jordan, Mariah McNeilly.

Gilbertsville-Mount Upton/Morris: Dierdre Brett, Vicky Drapaniotis, Sophia Gary, Christina Hawkins, Mandolinn Lull.

Milford: LineMay Christensen, Emilie Mertz, Brianna Rumovicz, Lauren Saggese, Lia Solensten.

Richfield Springs: Tessa Buck.

Schenevus/Worcester: Megan Gallagher, Kimberly Tefft.



First Team: Madisyn Butler, Richfield Springs; Serena Chase, Milford; Claire Fraser, Laurens; Catherine Johnson, Edmeston; Sarah Lawrence, Edmeston; Kaity Richvalsky, Richfield Springs; Monica Ridgeway, Worcester; Dawn Simmons, Milford; Ashley Sisson, Schenevus; Sydney Smith, Edmeston; Dani Tefft, Schenevus.

Second Team: Jenna Bakhuizen, G-MU; Emily Elliott, Milford; Dana Eschler, Edmeston; Kaitlyn Gott, Edmeston; Kayla Johnson, Laurens; Kelsey Ross, G-MU; Danielle Ruffles, Edmeston; Rebecca Smith, Richfield Springs; Mataiah Waters, Milford; Madison Wright, Worcester; Jordan Zaccagnino, Cherry Valley-Springfield.

Recommended for you